Gluten-free shopping

All supermarkets and grocery stores in Finland carry gluten-free cereal products: bread, crackers, crisp bread, biscuits, breakfast cereals and cakes. Selection and availability may vary according to the size of the shop, demand, etc.

The products may be placed on a separate shelf or with so called health foods, but mainly beside the ”normal” counterpart products. Gluten-free products are sold also in Health Food Shops, but they are normally more expensive there. Gluten-free products are not sold at Chemist’s in Finland.

Many international gluten-free products are sold in Finland, such as Moilas, Fria, Semper, Finax and Schär. There are also many local brands, for example Vuohela, Pirjon Pakari, Porokylä, Virtasalmen viljatuote, etc.

Look out for the Crossed Grain Symbol 

When our Crossed Grain Symbol appears on packaging, it tells you that the food is gluten-free. Some manufacturers label their products with label "gluteeniton" (=gluten-free). Manufacturers do not currently have to label their products in these ways, although some may choose to do so. There is also plenty of products which do not have the the Crossed grain symbol or ”gluteeniton” label, but still they are suitable for coeliacs.

Labelling of gluten-free foods

The EU legislation require that all ingredients which may cause sensitivity or adverse/allergic reactions must be declared clearly on the package label. These ingredients include wheat, rye, barley, oats and gluten.

Gluten cannot hide behind any class names or additive codes. The EU standard on gluten-free foods is currently in use throughout Europe, which means that a cereal product can be called “gluten-free” if it contains gluten not more than 20 mg/kg. There is also an other category of products called ”very low gluten”, meaning that they contain gluten over 20 but no more than 100 mg/kg. 

Products labelled "gluten-free" or "very low gluten" may both contain wheat-starch or gluten-free oats.

Pharmaceuticals and gluten

According to our questionnaires the Finnish pharmaceutical industry does not use gluten containing cereals in their products. These have been replaced by maize and potato starch.

There are some fibre supplements, naturally, which are made of wheat or oat fibre, but these are not classified as medications.